We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Punchestown website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.   Read More...

Cookies enable us to identify your device, or you when you have logged in. We use cookies that are strictly necessary to enable you to move around the site or to provide certain basic features. We use cookies to enhance the functionality of the website by storing your preferences, for example. We also use cookies to help us to improve the performance of our website to provide you with a better user experience. We don't sell the information collected by cookies, nor do we disclose the information to third parties, except where required by law (for example to government bodies and law enforcement agencies.   Show Less...

Punchestown News

Punchestown News: Don Cossack and Faugheen make HRI Awards history

Posted: 7th Dec 2015


Two sets of connections celebrate the Horse of the Year award

  PICTURE: Caroline Norris (racingpost.com/photos)  

Don Cossack and Faugheen create history

THERE was a first dead-heat at the annual Horse Racing Ireland Awards at Leopardstown on Monday afternoon, with Don Cossack and Faugheen sharing the Horse of the Year award.

The Grade 1-winning duo received an equal amount of votes, resulting in the pair becoming the first joint winners, with Eddie O'Leary - representing Don Cossack's owners Gigginstown House Stud - and Rich Ricci on hand to collect the award.

There was little surprise when the winner of the National Hunt award was announced, with champion trainer Willie Mullins scooping the prize. Mullins landed a record-breaking eight winners at the Cheltenham Festival in March and ten Grade 1 wins at the Punchestown festival in April during an astonishing season.

Pat Smullen received his first Flat award following a season which saw him crowned champion jockey for the eighth time, while Cork jockey Jonathan Burke won the Outstanding Achievement award, which was decided by a public vote, after the 19-year-old recorded a host of landmark wins, including Grade 1 victories at Leopardstown and Aintree.

Jonathan Burke

Jonathan Burke with his Outstanding Achievement award

  PICTURE: Caroline Norris (racingpost.com/photos)  

Cross-country supremo Enda Bolger picked up the Point-to-Point award following his clean sweep of the three main hunter chases at the big Spring festivals, courtesy of On The Fringe.

Legendary racecourse commentator Des Scahill, whose iconic voice has been part of Irish racing for over three decades, also collected the Contribution to Industry award from Brian Kavanagh, chief executive of HRI. 

Kavanagh said: "The reputation of Irish racing and breeding is built on the achievements of the extraordinarily talented people in our industry.

"The HRI Awards allow us celebrate these trainers, jockeys and horses who give us so much to be proud of and I wish all our winners and nominees continued success in 2016."

Winners at the HRI Awards

Horse of the Year Award: Don Cossack and Faugheen

National Hunt Award: Willie Mullins

Flat Award: Pat Smullen

Contribution to Industry Award: Des Scahill

Outstanding Achievement Award: Jonathan Burke

Point-To-Point Award: Enda Bolger

Racecourse of the Year Award: Leopardstown 

Return to news listings.